Upward, Edward

Edward Upward (1903-2009)

was the last of the ‘Auden generation’. While at Cambridge, he created with Christopher Isherwood a series of stories about the fictitious village of Mortmere. After graduating he was a private tutor and for thirty years a schoolmaster, until his retirement in 1961. His first novel, Journey to the Border, was published by Leonard and Virginia Woolf at the Hogarth Press in 1938 and between 1962 and 1977 Heinemann published his trilogy The Spiral Ascent. Upward’s The Railway Accident and Other Stories was a Penguin Classic. Enitharmon has been Upward’s exclusive publisher from 1994, issuing a series of critically acclaimed stories as well as memoirs of Isherwood and Auden. Edward Upward died in 2009, at the age of 105 years.

Edward Upward

Products by Upward, Edward

Renegade in SpringtimeAdd to cartUpward, EdwardA Renegade in Springtime: SIGNED COPY £115
Unmentionable ManAdd to cartUpward, EdwardAn Unmentionable Man £5.99
The Coming DayAdd to cartUpward, EdwardThe Coming Day £7.99
Add to cartUpward, EdwardThe Scenic Railway £6.99
Renegade in SpringtimeRead moreUpward, EdwardA Renegade in Springtime £15